St Marks’ church was constructed in 1855 by the 7th Earl of Stamford.
It stands on back lane and School lane in the centre of the Village of Dunham Town. Dunham or ‘Doneham’, established by Hamo de Massey, was mentioned as a community in the Doomsday Book.
The large parish contains within it’s boundaries many of the farms on the old Dunham Estate and the homes of the estate workers who lived in the village.
The church has a unique churchyard opposite the church which was left by the Earl in the care of the Vicar and Churchwardens. The churchyard is for members of the village community and members of the church congregation. The oldest graves in Dunham, of two quakers, can be found there as can the tombs of the Stamford family.